Skip to content

Aviary {organic beauty collective} is InStyle!

September 30, 2010

In one of the interviews that I did the last year, I was asked what the most exciting thing that I have ever won. My answer: accolades. To be able to do what you love is truly a gift; I feel as blessed about that as I do my family and friends who support me. But, in all honesty, to be told that you are good at it is something that brings a me level of validation that I never experienced with report cards or trophies.

Though I love to learn, I was never an excellent student (actually I was a pretty bad one) and even though I am “tall” (which apparently equals must be great at sports), I am much more clumsy and awkward than nimble. Plus I pretty much hate anything that requires running. So when I got the call that I was being considered for InStyle Magazine’s roundup of the Nation’s best beauty services, I had to catch my breath. And then throw up a little because I still had to perform a facial for their tester.

I feel fortunate that our Atlanta tester was a real champion for the ATL. She told us that she had been hounding a friend who works for the magazine to stop overlooking our great city for this annual feature…and they finally obliged! How my name got tossed into the ring, I will never know. But we made it. And the me of my twenties (a PR girl) is super proud of the me of today…because I don’t think I even got this excited to get a band written up in Rolling Stone or the New York Times. As I read the other services and salons who are featured, I feel even more flattered to be included…my friends at WAX got a great shoutout under waxing. And Adore Hair Studio, which is also right around the corner, was featured under hairstyling. So yay Eastside ATL!!

Anyway, I appreciate the kudos from InStyle and I hope you’ll take advantage of the 20% discount that they are offering to their readers. We at the Aviary are just doing what we love to do everyday, whether providing a service or just hanging out with our friends. On most days it feels like one in the same to us.

No comments yet

Leave a comment