Skip to content

Ashley Longshore does Anthropologie

August 10, 2010

I get pretty excited to open the mailbox and be greeted with the Anthropologie catalog every month. Like teenage-boy-with-the-swimsuit-issue excited. I don’t know how they do it but the creative forces that drive that company really nail it. I often tell my husband that I am Fantasy Shopping as I flip through the pages, imagining how I might redecorate either my home or wardrobe with a Lotto of $200 or $500 or $1000 or $5000 and so on. So, when I saw my friend Ashley Longshore’s artwork made into a Danish armchair in this month’s catalog I got REALLY excited. Like I-went-to-high-school-with-a-celebrity excited.

Ashley and I went to Brenau Academy together and graduated in ’93. We’ve kept up sporadically through the years but thanks to the Social Engineers at Facebook, we reconnected earlier this year when she was in Atlanta for an art show at Staceage. I love friends who you can pick right up with as if no time had passed at all.

Ashley started painting sometime after we graduated. She was always one of the most animated and rowdy girls in the school…and I say that as one of the animated and rowdy ones. It’s probably what landed me in boarding school to begin with. I remember staying up past curfew in the dorms and laughing until my sides hurt at her improvisation of Janis Joplin. You could practically hear Ms. Janis rolling over in her grave…whisky bottle in hand, cigarette in the other. Anyway, Ashley has definitely put her affable ways to good use and she counts a few celebrities as her clients. I won’t name who because, you know, the code and all that.

If you happen to find yourself in New Orleans, Ashley has opened a gallery there on Magazine Street. Stop in and say hello. Tell her I sent you…


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

