Skip to content

Juliette Lewis & The Hot Two-Toned Hair

February 19, 2010

A few nights ago my hubs and I took a break from the Winter Games and watched Whip It, the recent Ellen Page vehicle and Drew Barrymore’s directorial debut. I must admit that I am a total sucker for this type of story. If the synopsis of the film is “misfit girl meets boy” or if the TV show’s main character is named Lindsay Weir, then I’m there.

Whip It takes the awkward girl and introduces her to her high school lover, Roller Derby. Just like I won’t apologize for liking the movie, I won’t defend it either; it follows the formula and at times is so sweet that you have a toothache. But it was an easy watch for our TV date night and didn’t require a tenth of the brainpower of trying to understand the rules of Roller Derby. But the standout star to me was Juliette Lewis’ hairstyle. Oh. My.The hairstyle that was mine in middle school…my mom let me get highlights (through a cap) and I doused it with a Sun In/Peroxide combo (so subtle that my mother would never notice) and then grew it out because there was no other choice…is now back but with intention. Why do I love it so much? It’s perfectly right now, yet soooo back then.

I think that my fingers are crossed that we see a bit more from Juliette in the future and not in the DON’T pages of tabloid magazines. 80s revival done well!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 19, 2011 11:52 pm

    LOVEEEE this hairstyle and about to print this pic out for the perfect frosted tips…

Leave a Reply

